Hastings Now Among Local Representatives Refusing Pay During Shutdown

OLYMPIA, Wash. (AP) -- Six members of Washington state's 12-member congressional delegation have promised to give up their pay during the federal government shutdown that began Tuesday.   

Democratic Reps. Derek Kilmer and Suzan DelBene and Republican Reps. Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Doc Hastings and Dave Reichert have all confirmed they will forgo their salary during the shutdown. Republican Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler announced on Twitter that she will give 100 percent of her salary to a local charity. Members of the House and Senate make $174,000 a year, and some in leadership roles make more.   

A spokesman for Rep. Rick Larsen said the Democrat would not be returning his pay. Also keeping their pay are Democratic Reps. Adam Smith and Denny Heck.   

Democratic Sen. Patty Murray will keep her pay. However, spokesman Matt McAlvanah noted Murray previously supported a measure that would have suspended all lawmakers' pay during a shutdown.   

Phone and email messages left with the offices of Democratic Sen. Maria Cantwell and Democratic Rep. Jim McDermott were not returned.